Waiting For Spring by Amanda Cabot

02.07.13 | Trudi Cook |

Westward Winds Series, Book 2 - Entertainment and Intrigue

Widowed Charlotte took her young son to Cheyenne where she is now running a successful dress-making business, and life is looking up.  But she is still hiding parts of her story, and lives in fear of a notorious killer known only as “the Baron.”  The Baron apparently believes that Charlotte’s deceased husband found the hidden money from a huge train heist, and he’ll kill to get it.  Barrett Landry is a successful cattle baron and would-be Senator; when his political advisors tell him to choose a wife, he looks to Miriam, the beautiful daughter of a wealthy and influential man.  Why then does he so enjoy the company of Charlotte, Miriam’s friend and dressmaker?

Although Waiting for Spring is book 2 of a trilogy, it is an excellent stand-alone novel.  Set in Cheyenne, a prosperous city, in the days before Wyoming achieves statehood, the wealth of detail provided contributes to the story.  From the descriptions of the beautiful dresses, the high-styled social occasions, to the harder side of living and the difficulties associated with cattle ranching in a hard winter, Amanda Cabot does an amazing job of painting the scene so that you can really feel the story.  Besides the main characters, many others are portrayed, giving an excellent picture of the community.  The individuals are likable and human, and the story is engrossing. 

I enjoy stories set in the Old West, so I expected to enjoy Waiting for Spring, but I found it to be deeper and fuller than anticipated.  There were many secrets being held, and intrigue, even suspense was interwoven into the plot.  I appreciated how the faith of the main characters was mingled though their lives and choices.  Altogether, a very enjoyable book!

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Christian Fiction, Copyright 2013   ISBN 978-0-8007-3460-2


Your Comments(please keep them on topic and polite)