Glittering Promises

10.22.13 | Trudi Cook |

Glittering Promises

A novel by Lisa T. Bergren
Book 3, The Grand Tour Series

Journey’s end, real life begins

Glittering Promises continues the story of Cora Diehl Kensington, her siblings and close family friends as they take “The Grand Tour” of Europe in 1913. Each book continues another part of the journey, and they are meant to be read in sequence, not as stand-alone novels.

This third book continues to tell the tale of these siblings and friends as they wrap up their Grand Tour with the destination of Italy. Because of the problems and danger the group has experienced, both fathers accompany the young people on this last lap of the journey, as well as their tour leaders and bodyguards. Unfortunately, trouble continues to plague the group, as Cora feels sick frequently and learns that she’s been poisoned, and experiences other misfortunes.

I found some of the action in this story to be less than believable, as Cora more than once reacts to various situations in a reckless way that puts her in danger. (I think one of those events would be enough for me to learn that lesson!) After declaring her love for Will, she still seems unable to give her French suitor the necessary brush-off, and the ups and downs of her relationship with Will got a bit tiresome at times. Having said that, if you’ve read this far, don’t give up! It’s still an exciting story, with new challenges as Cora is revealed at the Copper heiress, and the group that’s been trying to stay low-key is suddenly in the center of everyone’s attention. It was heartwarming to see the strength of the bonds that have been established between Cora and her siblings, and as expected, the descriptions of historic sites are well done. Some surprises and unexpected twists in the story keep you turning the pages!

I received a free copy of Glittering Promises in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Christian Fiction
Copyright 2013
ISBN 978-1-4347-6428-7



Your Comments(please keep them on topic and polite)