5 States Including Pennsylvania May Be Barried From Boarding A Commercial Flight Using A Drivers License Beginning In 2018

10.13.16 | Sarah Harnisch

It's because of the states refusing to comply with national proof-of-identity requirements.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security confirmed Wednesday that it rejected requests from Oklahoma, Kentucky, Maine, South Carolina and Pennsylvania for an extension to comply with the federal Real ID act.

The law, passed in 2005 in response to the 9-11 attacks, imposes tougher requirements for proof of legal U.S. Residency to get a license.