Plans To Split Ny State Into Two Regions

02.18.14 | Jeremy Miller

 A movement is afoot to split New York into two regions - upstate and downstate - to acknowledge the gaping philosophical differences and improve representation.
         The state would remain united for federal purposes such as the electoral college and congressional seats, but the power on all state matters would go to independent regional governments. Downstate would be called New York while upstate region would be named New Amsterdam. Advocates say splitting New York into two states would require an act of congress. But the two-regions plan could be implemented by state lawmakers.