New Pa Driving Law Goes Into Effect This Weekend

12.22.11 | Sarah Harnisch

Pennsylvania's stronger teen driving law is set to go into effect this weekend, at 12:01 a.m. on Saturday. Anyone under 18 has to have 65 hours, not 50, of supervised, behind the wheel training, including 10 hours of night driving, and 5 hours of of driving in poor weather. No one under the age of 18 can transport more then 1 passenger, unless it's a family member, or a parent is with them. All of the rules are primary offenses, meaning if an officer suspects you're breaking the law, they can pull you over. If you want a layout of all the new Pennsylvania driving rules, go here. Anyone who hasn't taken their driving tests by the close of business Friday will fall under the new guidelines.

   For information on young driver safety, you can visit PennDOT's highway safety website, here.