Five Finalists Announced For Heisman Trophy

12.08.09 | FL News Team

The five finalists for this year's Heisman Trophy have been announced. Former Heisman winner and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow [[ TEE-bow ]] is among those who have been invited to New York. Joining Tebow in the final five is Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, Alabama running back Mark Ingram, Stanford running back Toby Gerhart [[ GAIR-hart ]] and Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh [[ en-DAH-meh-kahn SOO ]].

 Tebow, who won the Heisman in 2007, passed for 2,413 yards and 18 touchdowns for fifth-ranked Florida this season. He also rushed for 859 yards and 13 touchdowns. McCoy has thrown for 3,512 yards and 27 touchdowns for the second-ranked Longhorns, who will face top-ranked Alabama for the national championship on January 7th.

 Ingram has rushed for 1,542 yards and 15 scores, and caught 30 passes for 322 yards and three touchdowns for the Crimson Tide. Gerhart has rumbled for 1,736 yards and 26 touchdowns on the ground for the Cardinal. Suh racked up 82 tackles and 12 sacks for the Cornhuskers this year. The Heisman Trophy winner will be revealed this Saturday evening in New York.