First Change Made Based On Committee Recommendation

03.25.10 | FL News Team

The additional off day between Games Four and Five of baseball's two League Championship Series will be eliminated starting with this year's playoffs. The rest day was first put into place during the 2007 postseason. The change is the first to be made based on the recommendations of the special committee for on-field matters. Since parts of the playoff format have already been set for this year's postseason, additional suggestions will be considered for 2011. The goal is to make the playoff schedule more closely resemble the regular-season slate.

 The "blue-ribbon" panel was introduced in December by commissioner Bud Selig [[ SEE-lihg ]]. Current managers and past and present front office personnel from major league teams are on the committee. Among the panel members are St. Louis Cardinals manager Tony La Russa, Los Angeles Dodgers skipper Joe Torre, and Atlanta Braves president John Schuerholz. Hall of Famer Frank Robinson and journalist George F. Will were also named to the committee.