Drought Watch Lifted For 29 Pa Counties

01.27.09 | FL News Team

Environmental Protection officials in Pennsylvania have lifted the drought watch declaration for 29 counties in western and north central Pennsylvania citing improved groundwater and streamflow levels.

The drought watch was declared on November 7 following months of below-normal rainfall in western and north central parts of the state that resulted in low streamflow conditions and precipitation deficits of as much as 8 inches.

A drought watch declaration is the first level - and least severe - of the state's three drought classifications. It calls for a voluntary 5 percent reduction in non-essential water use.

The affected counties include Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Greene, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Potter, Somerset, Tioga, Venango, Warren, Washington, and Westmoreland counties.